Incident Report

I got a phone call just before lunch today from Matthew’s daycare. It was his teacher. She started out, “Now, Matthew’s alright . . .” and I my immediate thought was that he had attacked some poor classmate and I was getting the phone call to remove my hooligan child from their midst.

Instead, it was, “Matthew was running in the classroom, and I don’t know how he did it, but he just ran right into a wall.” Oh. Not unusual for my children. Running into walls: I’m not surprised. Apparently, he hit a window sill with the left side of his face, just below his eye. He’s fine, so don’t worry. He’s kind of proud of his injury. I had to sign an incident report when I picked him up and a copy will go into his file. I’m sure by the time he’s done with daycare, his file will be a couple inches thick with incident reports.