Lost In The Space-Time Continuum

That’s how I feel: like the days are flying by and I have no control over anything that’s going on. I guess that’s being a parent, right? Anyway, the past several days have been pretty typical: go to work, assist with homework, investigate strange odors and noises. The usual.

I did call 911 on my way to work the other day. I was sitting at a stop light at a 4 way intersection – the intersection is crossed diagonally by a train track – and a driver missed his turn and started driving down the train track. I immediately called 911 because he got his car stuck and obviously was in mortal danger from the next train that happened by. Don’t you remember those horrible film strips from drivers ed where they show you the burned out, shattered carcasses of vehicles that tried to beat the train to the crossing? You don’t mess around with trains. Disaster was averted – the police rescued the guy and no trains or drivers were hurt.

In other news, Binki turned 16 years old. That’s WAY ancient for a dog. Like 112 years old or something like that. She is angry that we didn’t mark the occasion with a full blown celebration of cake and ice cream, but we figured we’d splurge and get the beef and cheddar flavor of her favorite dog food. She was not impressed.

Other random thoughts: why is it I can remember the lyrics to a billion songs, but can’t remember much of anything I learned in law school? I thought about this the other day on my way to work, when I turned on the radio and Welcome to the Jungle was playing. Great, I thought. Now I’m going to have Axl Rose in my head all day. And that is not a pretty picture. So I continued listening to the song, with the hopes that the next song would negate Axl Rose. And the next song was . . . Tubthumping by Chumbawamba. Of course. The world’s most irritating song would be next on the playlist.

So I then I wondered, why in the world can I sing Tubthumping almost verbatim, but had a terribly hard time mastering Supreme Court cases? Besides the fact that Supreme Court cases are deadly boring? Because no one has put law school cases to music, that’s why! If only I had thought of that years ago. Now these lyrics would be an instant hit, don’t you think?

Washington State wanted to sue
a Delaware corporation – International Shoe
“Lack of jurisdiction!” the defense cried
But Chief Justice Stone did not take their side
And so International Shoe had taxes to pay
To satisfy the notions of justice and fair play

Yes, this is how my brain works. Scary, isn’t it?

One Response

  1. That’s awsome! You can create a whole line of them to compete with PMBR! It’s a great meal ticket idea!

Leave a Reply

