There Is Crying Over Spilled Milk, After All

Isn’t the saying, “No good deed goes unpunished?” I’ve had ample proof of that this past week. Or maybe I’m just a negative person, but I don’t like to think of myself that way. However, the following situations have occured in the past few days; on days that I’ve specifically asked God for something, anything good to happen. Just one good thing. He’s probably sent me a thousand good things, but then there are huge bad things that happen. Not really huge things, I guess, but annoying nonetheless and overshadow any good things that might have happened.

Anyway, the first one happened just a few days ago. See, I work in the very same building where I worked previously; for a different firm. So I am actually working in the same building with people who fired me. Kicked me to the curb, if you will. Invited me to write articles and summaries for the client newsletter and seminar, then dismissed me. Ignored the fact that I wrote a wonderful trial brief while my husband was in the hospital, handed it in on time, got compliments from opposing counsel, and still, they fired me. But I’m not bitter, right? And while I have moved on and am feeling better about the whole situation, I don’t necessarily want to see the very people who rejected me – and definitely not every day. (Of course, there are some really great people at the firm and I don’t mind running into them once in a while. But still, no one likes the sting of rejection, right?)

For the past few weeks, I have not seen anyone from the old firm – not in the lobby, not on the street or on the way to the parking garage. I thought that strange, especially since there are about 40 attorneys who work there, surely I’d run into some of them some of the time. But I hadn’t, really. Until the other day. I was exiting the building on the way to the parking garage. As I was going through the front doors of the building, I heard someone behind me, pulling one of those rolling briefcases. So I was going to be gracious and hold the door open – only to turn around and see the woman who fired me coming through the door. I have no idea if she recognized me because I already had my sunglasses on and have chopped off my hair since she last saw me, but just for a second I must admit I wanted to kick over her rolling briefcase. Don’t worry; I didn’t. I held the door open and let her pass. Then I paused outside to be sure we wouldn’t be walking the same direction. Then I walked down the street recounting all the ways that I am in a better situation now, and how it’s going to catch up with them in the end. Still, not a pleasant experience.

The next item on the list of bad things happened just this morning; see, I am going to the beach in 3 weeks and have been trying to get into good shape, you know, for swimsuit season. So I have been trying eat healthier and exercise more – not necessarily to lose weight, but just to be healthier and stronger in general. In fact, I did 30 minutes of aerobics and strength training yesterday. And this morning, when I stepped on the scale? An additional 1.3 pounds. Dude. What gives? I’m not one to obsess over weight, but tell me — is this fair: I work out, eat less and gain weight? And Chris, my beloved husband, eats anything he wants and loses weight? Not fair. Not fair at all.

Then, this afternoon, after a lovely trip to Trader Joe’s for groceries, I am driving home with Matthew. We are singing songs, including “Roll the God and Cherry Along” (Roll the Gospel Chariot) and “Bingo” only Matthew sings “There was a farmer had a dog and Bingo was his name-o, D-I-N-G-O, D-I-N-G-O and Bingo was his name-o!” The second verse is the same except he sings “T-I-N-G-O, T-I-N-G-O” and the third verse is “—-O, —-O and O was his name-o!”  Gotta love four-year-olds.

I’m driving home and pull out from the parking lot and get into the appropriate lane for me. Then two cars turn onto the street right in front of me. I slow down, again being gracious, and let them in the line of traffic. A few seconds later, they both decide to turn right into a parking lot and I have to slam on the brakes to avoid hitting the one in front of me. As I do that, the gallon of milk I just purchased tumbles down the length of the mini-van, up to the front, splitting the carton open and milk starts gushing everywhere. I’m still trying to drive at this point and grab the milk carton; milk is spewing everywhere, Matthew is talking about how I should call the cops. I finally get a hold of it as I am still driving along and get it turned on it’s side so it is no longer spewing milk everywhere. I am very glad to say that I did not say out loud what I was thinking, but it was not very nice. It was probably R-rated, actually.

We get home, and I attempt to get the milk out of the van’s carpet, but you can only imagine what that’s going to smell like after a day or so. Lovely. Maybe these are just annoyances, but come on, can’t something nice happen? Maybe God has to hit me in the head to get my attention.

So I’m going to try to make lemonade out of these lemon situations – 1. I don’t work at that awful place anymore and I’m sure the woman who fired me was as uncomfortable as I was. And maybe she thinks I’m stalking her. Which I’m totally not. But maybe I’d like her to think so. 2. Even though the scale is not cooperating, I am eating healthier and exercising, which are both positive things. 3. Ummmm . . . I’m having a hard time coming up with something positive out of the milk situation. I didn’t have a wreck? I didn’t say awful curse words in front of my 4-year-old who would surely repeat them at school and then blame Mama for teaching him to cuss?

There you have it: it was probably an exercise in futility to look on the positive side of things, but then again, I don’t want to jinx myself and have something else annoying happen. I guess I’m vascillating between being eternally optimistic and being downright pessimistic. I think I’ll just resort to what Chris calls my “Scarlett O’Hara mentality:” I can’t think about that right now. I’ll think about that tomorrow.

2 Responses

  1. While I cannot comment on the milk situation (that just plain stinks) or the old firm situation (except to say when you hear a rolling briefcase to (1) run or (2) throw something slippery – like a banana peel on the ground (but then again you are WAY above that)), I can comment on the working out/weight situation. The good news there is that it’s not uncommon at all to actually gain weight when beginning to work out because you are gaining muscle (a pound of muscle is like 1/2 or 1/3 the size of one pound of fat)- which incidentally weights more then fat. So you are likely getting smaller though slighter heavier at first. Which is a very good thing because muscle burns more calories while even sitting down then does the same weight of fat. Plus after a few weeks that muscle weight usually catches up to you, burns a boat load of calories and you lose weight quicker. But backing up about a paragraph and a half – you look fabulous and do not need to lose even an ounce, though being in better shape for yourself is always a good goal and leads to being able to deal with the milk and old firm situations better (or at least that’s what the “research” says). You look great, handle situations like no one I’ve ever met (with saint-like grace and poise), and a better person than anyone at that firm (or other drivers) will ever be! Hope you have a better week this week. 🙂

  2. Congratulations– you are NORMAL!! All of your thoughts and actions were dead on for what I’d feel, if not do, including kick over the briefcase, cry over the milk, and contemplate calling the po-po! Thanks for a funny read, though I am not sure it was funny to you at the time!! Great blog!

Leave a Reply

