Three Year Anniversary

Wow. I just figured out that today is my blog’s three-year anniversary. I can’t believe I’ve stuck with this so long. I had no idea that I could stick with this, even though the past month or so has been a little on the dry side, so to speak, creatively. One day, my kids are going to look back at this and say, “I cannot believe she posted that on the web.” I’ve probably already ruined their chances for elected office. With this story. And this one. This one, too.

Anyway, the past three years have kind of been a mixed bag – the kids are getting older, that’s good and bad. They’re more self-sufficient, but I do kind of miss the ‘baby’ years. Not the sleepless nights and diapers, mind you, but the baby-fresh smell of their little heads and the rolls of baby fat. So cute! Brandon is becoming such a responsible young man, and I am really proud of how he’s been working hard at school and home. Matthew has left the baby years behind and is starting to learn so much in pre-K. And he’s scary smart. He observes everything that’s going on and understands way more than a 4-year-old should. He’s really going to keep us on our toes!

I’m also three years older. While the past year has been difficult for me, I think I have a clearer picture of what I want and how I want to live my life. Turning 35 was actually a big deal, surprisingly. Maybe because I read medical reports, probate documents and death certificates all day and now life is suddenly extremely fragile and I don’t know exactly how to cope with that – except to eat better and exercise more and try to plan for the future. Maybe this is a good thing.

So, all in all, I think I’ve grown a little over the past three years. I hope I can say that again in another three years! Happy blogoversary to me!

One Response

  1. I am so thankful you started your blog. It keeps us close even though you are far away.

Leave a Reply

