Edamame Mama

My new favorite snack: edamame. Soybeans, for the uninitiated. I bought some of the pods at the store and have been eating them for my late-night snack or while watching March Madness. (How are your brackets doing? Mine, not so good. Curse you, Duke!)

I decided to introduce the boys to edamame, hoping they would prefer something healthy over cheese puffs or candy. They usually eat pretty well, and I don’t keep a lot of sweets around the house. Matthew will eat anything you eat, if he sees you eat it (and enjoy it) first. If you were sitting in the yard enjoying large handfuls of dirt, Matt would sit down next to you and dig in.

So this past weekend, I was sitting on the couch, enjoying my edamame when Matthew walked up and took a big handful of beans. He stuffed them in his mouth and looked in the bowl for more.

“Are those good, Matt?” I asked.

“No,” he replied nonchalantly as he grabbed another handful.

“Then why are you eating them?”

“I’m not.”

Whatever, dude. Your Jedi mind tricks don’t work on me.

One Response

  1. Now if you can do that trick with Broccoli?

Leave a Reply

