Keepin’ It Real

Today I was painting the boys’ playroom while Matthew played with one of his electronic preschool learning-type toys on the floor beside me. I’ve played with it, too, just not too much, and thought it was a pretty neat learning tool for preschoolers. You know, ‘catepillars turn into butterflies’ – those types of scientific facts. Things like puppies and flowers and rainbows and kittens, right? I mean, come on, it’s a preschool toy. I wasn’t paying that much attention, but I did hear the toy state the following:

Killer whales sometimes attack and eat dolphins.

I must say I was surprised. Of course, Matthew didn’t even notice (or maybe he’s so used to violence that he’s become desensitized) and continued playing. I didn’t say anything, and he didn’t ask, but if he comes up to you and tells you how dolphins die, don’t be surprised.

Leave a Reply

