Evil Winter Weather

After all was said and done yesterday, we had about 10″ of snow dumped on us in a matter of hours. I shoveled the driveway and the front sidewalk and now my arms and back are wondering what kind of truck ran me over. Snow shoveling is quite a strenuous workout; especially when there’s 10″ of it covering everything.

But I am glad that I shoveled yesterday. Our neighborhood is quite a mixture of new homes, old homes and old homes with new additions (like ours). It’s not one of those “McMansion” neighborhoods where all the houses look alike and it’s not a subdivision. I like that about the area – it’s kind of non-conformist. I’m such a rebel against the establishment. 

Anyway, many of our neighbors were out last evening shoveling snow, building snowmen, throwing snowballs and trying to help drivers make it up the hill. As I was shoveling the front sidewalk, a group of teenage boys attempted to drive their manual transmission, front wheel drive car up the hill in front of our house. They were very amusing, because I think none of them had any idea how to get that car up the hill. Every time the car got traction, the kid would put on the brakes or stall it.  At one point, there were two teenagers on the hood of the car, one attempting to drive it, and another behind the car, pushing. I suspect the teenagers on the hood of the car were trying to give it extra weight, but I wondered how they were going to get off the car once it got some traction.

I think they finally gave up and got the car close enough to the curb to just park it, even though Chris and another neighbor came out with snow shovels to try to help. Fortunately, no teenagers were harmed during the attempt to park the car.

Brandon went (begrudgingly) back to school today, but Matthew has a sore throat, so we are home today. Maybe we can get some more pictures later, if Matthew is feeling better.

Leave a comment