Dear Old Man Winter,

Man, is this hard. I never really expected it to come to this; I just thought we’d have a good time, a laugh here and there, some hot cocoa and part ways. I never intended for our relationship to be long-term. But you just won’t get the message, so I guess I have to shoot straight with you: I’ve met someone else. I know this is difficult for you, but it’s better if I tell you now instead of stringing you along.

I met Spring today, and I just fell head over heels in love.

Really, it’s not you; it’s me. I’ve grown kind of frigid lately and the love between us has become cold as ice. I mean, even your stares are frosty. I remember when you used to nip at my nose, and how fun it was the first time it snowed. Now the snow is melting and dirty and all the freshness is gone. But Spring, aaahhh, Spring. He’s different. He makes me feel all warm and tingly. He brings me flowers, fresh fruit and longer days.

So, what I guess I’m trying to tell you is: it’s time for you to go. We’re just not working out any more. Sorry it had to end this way, but maybe we can try again in a year or so.

Leave a Reply

