Christmas Questions

I received this email from a good friend of mine and thought I’d just share my answers here. If you wish to share your answers, feel free to do so in the comments!

  1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? Wrapping paper is prettier, but gift bags are easier. Depends on what kind of mood I’m in!

2. Real tree or artificial? Artificial due to allergies! Plus, I’m not much of a green thumb and would forget to water it; creating a very brown tree and fire hazard.

3. When do you put up the tree? Usually the week or two after Thanksgiving, but I have been known to not have a tree at all if we were travelling home for Christmas. (When we didn’t have kids, that is.)

4. When do you take the tree down? On or before New Years’ Day.

5. Do you like eggnog? I cannot stomach the thought of swallowing raw eggs! Yuck!

6. Favorite gift received as a child? The first gift that comes to mind was my three-story Barbie townhouse with the elevator, but I always got wonderful gifts at Christmas.

7. Do you have a nativity scene? I have one nativity ornament.

8. Hardest person to buy for? Chris

9. Easiest person to buy for? Matthew (right now) because he’s excited about everything! He’d be excited about a bag of rocks.

10. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?  That’s a loaded question. I don’t really remember anything that was shockingly bad!

11. Mail or e-mail Christmas cards? I like mailing cards right now, but I just figured out after making this year’s Christmas card list that I have email addresses and phone numbers for a lot of my friends; not physical addresses!  

12. Favorite Christmas movie? This has to come with a disclaimer: my favorite Christmas movie is Love Actually but if you’re offended by bad language and adult (and I mean adult) situations, please wait for it to play on network television – don’t rent it! You’ve been warned. I’m also partial to Christmas Vacation, White Christmas and Elf.

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?After Thanksgiving weekend.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?Most definitely.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? Anything chocolate.

16. Clear lights or colored on the tree? Clear

17. Favorite Christmas song? All I Want For Christmas Is You and Little Drummer Boy

18. What was one of the first gifts you remember? Barbie stuff? I think I got a really pretty dark green gingham and white dress one year.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer? Sure, but only if I sing them!

20. Angel on the tree top or star? Dangerously starboard-listing star.

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? One present on Christmas eve, the rest Christmas morning.

22 Most annoying thing about this time of year? Holiday cheer. I’m kidding. The inability to buy meaningful, super-appreciated gifts because everybody has everything they really want.

23. What I love most about Christmas? The kids’ excitement.

24. Greatest Christmas memory?One year (when we lived on Kurt Drive) I remember laying under the tree and looking up at the lights and decorations and being soooooo excited – that memory has stuck with me for many years.

Leave a Reply

