It’s a Zoo Around Here

A few years ago, Brandon got a computer game for Christmas – Zoo Tycoon. You build a zoo, create a habitat for the animals, manage and pay staff and keep the guests happy – hopefully without running out of money. You have to purchase the fencing, restaurants, exhibit buildings, foliage, animals, sidewalk – everything – and design the zoo yourself. We played it a lot when we first got it, then interest waned and we forgot about the game.

I rediscovered it last week, and now have a rockin’ zoo on the moon. I also found some cheat codes on-line. I know that’s a rotten thing to do, and not a good example to Brandon (hey – he suggested it!), but here’s some of the cool things I can do with the cheat codes:

I can make all the men in the zoo get sick and throw up simultaneously.

I can change all the guest’s clothing to the same color.

I can make all the guests run for their lives when birds fly overhead.

I can make the tour guides work for free.

I can get unicorns and triceratops for exhibits by renaming exhibits certain names. (For example, renaming an exhibit ‘Xanadu’ gets you a unicorn.)

Why would I want to do these things to my little zoo? Because I can. Anyway, this has really been fun to play. Brandon has his own zoo (also on the moon) and is learning what makes the animals happy and how much money he can spend on exhibits and staff and what happens when you run out of money. (You get a one time gift from benefactors; after that, you have to start selling stuff off and/or raising prices.) It’s been a lot of fun for us.

Speaking of zoos (well, speaking of craziness), I’ve been trying to post this photo of Matthew – in the midst of his mania about packing and going to Florida for Thanksgiving – but couldn’t get it to post for some reason. Here’s Matthew the night before our trip – he had gotten into a closet and found a hat. And a hankerchief:

img00151.jpg

Just a little manic, don’t you think?

One Response

  1. That is a face to love!

Leave a Reply

