One for the Girls

I love beauty products. Hair stuff, make-up, skin care stuff; I’d try just about every new product if I could afford it. I’m always looking for a new miracle product that will tame my frizzy, wiry hair and soothe my dry skin. A few months ago, I saw a CNN story on the Boots No. 7 phenomena in Britain – they were continually selling out of one of their beauty serums, Protect and Perfect. People were going wild over there, waiting in line and buying up all they could find.

Of course, that piqued my interest: what awesome beauty product could spark such a reaction? I did some research and found that Boots is sold in the US at Target and CVS, so I went out and bought their Restore and Renew serum (as it is known over here). I loved the way it made my skin feel – smooth, soft – wonderful. I soon followed up with some more products and loved every one of them.

I introduced my mom to them and she told my sister, and from their reports, they like Boots, too. I’ve wanted to find wonderful products at Target-like prices, and I think these are comparable to the higher priced department store products. I’ve been a long time fan of Clinique’s 3-step system because I have sensitive skin, but as soon as I use those up, I’m replacing them with Boots products.

So – if you’re looking for a cheaper alternative to the department store brands for skin care, march down to Target and try Boots. Sorry for the girly post, but this information just had to be shared!

2 Responses

  1. When mom came back from visiting you she insisted that I give the Boots brand a try. Unlike you, I have “problem” skin and have been using Proactiv for ten years now. Lately the Proactiv just was not working anymore. I don’t know if I had grown too accustomed to it, or if crazy pregnancy hormones were taking their toll on my skin. Either way it was worth a try. I bought the boots cleanser, toner and daily moisturizer. I loved it! I am also slowly replacing all of my products with Boots. They are great products at even better prices! Thanks Melissa!

  2. Well, you just never know what you are going to come across in a blog. Maybe you should do a “Tip Thursday” or something like that? I am going to have to share this with my Mom…

Leave a Reply

