Color Me

Sometimes I look in my closet, only to be confronted by a wall of solid color. I have a monochrome wardrobe. At best, bi-chrome. A few years ago, it was navy and white. I was starting law school and you know every lawyer has to have a navy suit. I had two of them. Navy sweaters, navy t-shirts, navy pants. Navy navy navy.

So to facilitate a change in direction, I bought a gray suit. Every lawyer has to have a gray suit, too. It’s in the code of ethics. Just kidding. The gray suit led to a charcoal suit which led to a black suit and black pants, more black pants and black dresses. Black pants with pinstripes and hounds-tooth! I have a hounds-tooth suit! So now I’ve slipped into the same problem, this time with black.

I’ve tried to be conscious of this when I shop and buy things that are a little out of my color comfort zone. Reds and greens and pink. I have overcompensated and now have 5 shirts of various red colors and a similar amount of minty/sage green shirts.

And wouldn’t you know it, today I went shopping and bought black track pants! Why? I had the opportunity to purchase brown pants, pink pants, purple pants and the old stand by, navy pants. And I bought black. I need a color intervention.

2 Responses

  1. I tend to have the same problem. My colors are green and brown. I too try to branch out, but find myself buying the green shirt instead of purple. It must run in the family.

  2. Yes, when I branch out, and buy that something different, I never end up wearing it. I just keep ducking by it, going for the red or black. The show “What not to wear” is my inspiration to go above my comfort zone – which is all too infrequent.

Leave a Reply

