The Search for Quality Furniture

Our new house has a huge entryway off the garage – where we enter the house most often. Because we live where it actually gets cold, I really need a coat closet down there, but there’s not one. So I’ve been looking for some entryway furniture to store all the coats, mittens, gloves, hats and scarves we’ll be wearing in a few months.

I found the perfect set up at Pottery Barn – for $1,500. I really like it, but not for $1,500. I went to several local furniture stores – no one sells anything like that. I went to an unfinished furniture store – they didn’t have anything like that. So I spent some time at Lowe’s today, surveying the lumber inventory and dreaming up a design in my head.

Now I have to put pencil to paper and draw up the plans, because I really think I can build almost exactly what I want for around $200. I went a little overboard with my first design and had too much furniture for the wall. I’m going to modify the design. It’s still kind of just an idea right now – but I’ll let you know if I actually start building. Watch out Pottery Barn!

One Response

  1. Are there any furniture auctions in the area where you live? They can have some great deals. You never know what you will find. Dad and I built a headboard and footboard from some old doors and I just love it. It is one of my favorite pieces of furniture. And, I do love furniture! I hope you do build it – Kristi

Leave a Reply

