Girl Stuff

I love Sephora. I could spend hours and hours and tons of money at that store. That’s why I don’t go very often. Unfortunately, I have access to Sephora 24/7 on the computer and have been shopping there pretty often lately. I’ve bought only some Bare Minerals makeup because I wanted to try it and I was out of my usual Clinique foundation. I really like the Bare Minerals stuff. I want to try more of it, say some eyeshadows/lipsticks, but I need to temper my spending. (Most guys don’t understand why it’s okay to spend $15 for lipstick, but listen — being a girl is an expensive venture. Just think of the number of shoes we have to get to match all the different outfits/social occasions . . . I can’t just throw on my LL Bean Comfort Mocs with that cute sundress now, can I? That would look ridiculous.)

Anyway, I’m not really a “girly” girl, but I love beauty products. I’ve been very good lately at not buying a bunch of hair care stuff, but it is not unusual for me to have two or three different shampoo/conditioner bottles in the shower. Right now, I have 2 shampoos, 1 regular conditioner, 1 deep conditioner and some anti-frizz stuff in the shower. That’s just the hair stuff. I also have a couple of shower gels, two bars of soap (Dove and Clinique), two different makeup removers and an exfoliator. Oh, and the “blueberry burst” shampoo, but that’s for the boys.

Luckily for me, Chris has never really said anything about the shower inventory. Maybe because I typically practice self restraint when going by Sephora (or maybe it’s because I have Matthew with me and the thought of going into a store like Sephora with a 3 1/2 year old boy makes me cringe), but Chris has been generally giving when it comes to my beauty purchases, even though he never had a sister and didn’t have to share his bathroom with a product-crazy girl until he married me. He sometimes balks at the prices, though. Which I can understand – I guess to a guy a $20 bottle of moisturizer seems extravagant. But to me, it’s a bargain, because I could have bought much more expensive stuff. Just pick up any health or beauty magazine, and you’d be shocked how expensive some of this stuff is.

Anyway, I guess I’m getting in the mood for beauty products because I know Clinique’s bonus days are just around the corner. And they had free shipping from their website this weekend. Sometimes the Internet can be a bad, bad thing.

One Response

  1. I love bare minerals! I have been using it for almost 2 years now. I haven’t tried the eye shadow either, but everytime we go by Sephora I look at it. I signed up for the club. They send me shipments automatically!

Leave a Reply

