Weekend Update

Hello? It’s March already? I can’t believe it! I feel stuck in a perpetual January for some reason. I am just blown away at the fact that we are well into March now! Time for some March Madness and St. Patrick’s festivities.

We had our ‘home visit’ from Baxter’s adoption agency. I think we passed. She verified that we weren’t feeding him “Old Roy” dog food and that he was getting lots of attention, which I think are the main concerns. We did not mention that he hates/eats Elmo dolls and that he has escaped at least four times. The home visit consisted of a check of the dog’s personal space, his food, the backyard, and how he interacts with the family. Baxter put on quite on a show, trying to bite the tags on his collar and digging an imaginary hole in the living room rug. Sometimes I wonder if he’s one kibble shy of a full bowl, if you know what I mean.

Right after the home visit, Matthew let Baxter out for the second time. Baxter immediately took advantage of the situation and zipped around the neighborhood. Matthew thought he was helping, I guess. And boy, is Baxter fast. He zipped through the neighbors yards like a giant black blur. I was able to coax him toward me with a bag of treats, but he only made faster, tighter circles around me and I wasn’t able to grab him. Luckily, one of the neighbors was outside and was able to stop him when Baxter used the neighbor as a shield to prevent me from grabbing him. He thinks it’s all great fun; his little stub of a tail is wagging constantly and he gets a crazed look in his eyes. Or maybe he’s just crazy.

This morning as I was getting dressed for church, I instructed the boys to brush their teeth. When I came out of the bedroom, Matthew was laying on the bathroom floor, like he had fallen down. Of course, he was playing, but I don’t know exactly how long he had waited there for me to come out of the bedroom. He then told me he had fallen off the toilet and was now dead. I told him that was too bad and to get up off the floor. Maybe I should have gotten a piece of chalk and drawn an outline around him, but that would just encourage him. Matthew has a flair for the dramatic, don’t you think?

Leave a comment