Excuses for Neglect

Let me be the first to admit that I’ve neglected the ol’ blog lately. Now that I’ve accepted responsibility, let me give you a hefty list of excuses why, so I can alleviate some of my guilt, feel good for a while, not change my habit and/or lifestyle and later on, feel guilty again. It’s the circle of guilt: a wonderful thing.

Anyway, Christmas just blew right by me. I was all excited at Thanksgiving, then it seems that I woke up one morning and it was over. The boys enjoyed the holidays, but boy, are the days flying by ever so fast.

We’ve all been playing left-nostril-cold-virus polka. Why left nostril? Because all four of us, simultaneously, can’t breathe out of our left nostril. It must be a left-sided cold virus. We seem to be getting better, having had this since Christmas weekend.

I’ve also had quite a bit of insomnia the past two weeks. I’ve even resorted to sleeping aids. The one I took last night did not work, which is amazing considering I typically can fall asleep even after drinking a Dr. Pepper right before bed and merely looking at Benadryl makes me sleepy. I was up at 2 am playing Sudoku and wondering if I should blog about something. The problem was, I had insomnia and writer’s block. The good news was I was wide awake enough to finish a tough puzzle in less than my average time.

So I’ll try to do better. Hopefully, the cold will go away as well as the insomnia (I’m already feeling a little sleepy) and things will get back to normal after the whirlwind, hectic holidays.

Leave a Reply

