Killer Shoes

I bought these shoes on our vacation in Florida to go with a cute outfit I bought at the Ann Taylor outlet:

Cute, huh? Chris says they are not his favorite, which is code for he hates them, but none the less I found them charming.

That is, until I wore them yesterday and had to walk 6 blocks in 85 degree heat to a deposition. All was well until I had to walk the 6 blocks back to the office. I nearly fell. Twice. I told Chris that would have been a work related injury (if I had really injured myself), but he argued the fact that I wasn’t required to wear shoes like those. But I argued that I was, because I had to dress professional, and if I had my way, I’d wear these shoes:

Or no shoes at all. But since I had to dress a certain way and this is not Podunk-ville, the shoes were entirely appropriate to go with the outfit.

Anyway, by the time I hobbled back to the office, my feet were killing me. I slid my shoes off under my desk and worked barefooted the rest of the day.

Today, my legs were also paying the price of the new shoes. See, I haven’t worn heels in a while. Possibly since I was interviewing for jobs last summer. I typically wear shoes like these:

I know. Not so cute, but oh so functional and comfortable and they go with my grey pants, my charcoal pants, my black pants . . . You get the picture, they go with EVERYTHING! So I wear shoes like these constantly. (And, as you can see, I seem to like the mule/slide/clog type shoes. Which probably is a result of a traumatic elementary school experience of not learning how to tie my own shoes until I was 8 years old. Or maybe it was the one where we had a race to take our shoes off and I couldn’t get the double knots undone and I was the last one trying to get her shoes off and I thought all the other kids were laughing at me. Truth be known, they probably didn’t. But interesting isn’t?)

Oh, yeah . . . back to the leg pain. I’m still sore, like I used muscles I hadn’t used in a while. At my last job, I wore heels at least twice a week. And sometimes I carried heavy, file laden metal buckets up flights of marble stairs while wearing said heels. I’m surprised I didn’t fall and break something. So now I’m paying the price for wearing the killer shoes. I vowed earlier today to not wear them again, but they’re so cute and they go with the outfit so well that I’m already plotting to wear them next week. But not on a day where I have to walk anywhere.

Leave a comment